Associate Microsurgeons

Dr. Brent Egeland completed his residency at the highly regarded University of Michigan Integrated Plastic Surgery program and has received numerous awards for research and teaching, including the Medical Society Bronze Beeper Award for Top 10 Resident Teacher and the Michigan Academy of Plastic Surgeons Best Scientific Presentation. His focus is on trauma, microsurgical and oncologic reconstruction. After completing a fellowship in hand and microsurgery at the Mayo Clinic, Dr. Egeland moved to Austin, TX where he has practiced since 2012.

Dr. Steven Henry is a double board-certified plastic surgeon who received his medical degree from the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine. After completing his residency in plastic surgery at the University of Missouri, he completed fellowships in orthopedic hand surgery at the Hand Center of San Antonio, and reconstructive microsurgery in Taiwan. Dr. Henry is also a highly trained microneurovascular surgeon, with substantial experience in post-oncologic reconstruction of the head/neck and breast. In addition to his clinical practice, Dr. Henry is also very active academically, having contributed 30 scientific articles and book chapters to the surgical literature.

Dr. Galen Wachtman is a board-certified plastic surgeon with a specialized practice in microsurgery. He completed both his residency in plastic and reconstructive surgery and fellowship in orthopedic hand and upper extremity surgery at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. While there, Dr. Wachtman was honored with membership in the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society, won the Charles E. Moore Award for resident teaching, and received a Research Fellowship from the Plastic Surgery Education Foundation for his work in composite tissue allotransplantation. In 2016, Dr. Wachtman was named by his peers to the Texas Super Doctor® Rising StarSM list for the second year in a row.